About ACI

Background

The American Concrete Institute (ACI) is a nonprofit technical and educational society. Organized in 1904, ACI is one of the world's leading authorities on concrete technology, acting as a round-table for the discussion of all concrete-related matters and development of problem resolution. ACI conducts this forum in a several ways: through conventions and meetings; the ACI Structural Journal, ACI Materials Journal, Concrete International and technical publications; chapter activities; and technical committee work. As its chartered objective states, its goal is "to provide a comradeship in finding the best ways to do concrete work of all kinds and in spreading that knowledge." This intent implies a readiness from each member to contribute his or her training and knowledge to benefit the overall public.

By maintaining a high standard of professional and technical ability in its committee memberships, local chapter programs and the authorship of papers and publications, ACI has contributed to a detailed knowledge of materials, as well as their resulting structures. It publishes reliable information on concrete and its applications and provides local forums for discussion through the Chapter program. In addition, ACI conducts educational seminars, offers a standard certification program for the industry and encourages student involvement in the concrete field. Committee members involved with these activities meet at bi-annual conventions.

The American Concrete Institute currently has 98 chapters, 37 student chapters, and nearly 20,000 members spanning over 120 countries.
 

Alberta Chapter Officers

President
Maier, Martin
ISL Engineering and Land Services
Edmonton
Phone: (780) 232-1233
E-mail: mmaier@islengineering.com

Past President
Gepraegs, Oliver
WSP Canada Inc.
Calgary
Phone: (403) 247-1813
E-mail: Oliver.Gepraegs@wspgroup.com

Treasurer
McDonald, Dave
Thurber Engineering Ltd.
Edmonton
Phone: (780)438-1460
E-mail: dmcdonald@thurber.ca

Past Treasurer
Rabinovitch, Jeffrey S.
Read Jones Christoffersen Ltd.
Edmonton
Phone: (780) 452-2325
JRabinovitch@rjc.ca

Secretary Nelson, Ross
ISL Engineering and Land Services Ltd.
Edmonton
Phone: (780)438-9000
rnelson@ islengineering.com

Director
Roy, Colin
AECOM
Edmonton
Phone: (780)486-7050
colin.roy@aecom.com

Director
MacMaster, Mitchell
PCL Construction Management Inc.
Calgary
Phone: (403)880-3943
mjmacmaster@pcl.com

Director
Thomas, Laura
Inland Concrete
Calgary
LThomas@lehighHanson.com

Director
Reimer GS, Jerrie
Precast Concrete Solutions, Prairie Region
Calgary
Phone: (403)253-6598
jerrie.reimer@clarkbuilders.com

Director
LeBlanc, Bill
Precast Concrete Solutions, Prairie Region
Calgary
Phone: (403)207-8210)
Bill.LeBlanc@armtec.com

Director
Trujillo P.Eng., Miguel
Clark Builders
Edmonton
Phone: (780)-838-6439
miguel.trujillo@clarkbuilders.com

Director
Pickett, Jadon M.
TetraTech
Calgary
Phone: (403) 723-1546 7217
Jadon.Pickett@tetratech.com

Director
Kuhl, Chris
KGL Construction
Edmonton
Phone: (780) 235-2524
ChrisK@graham.ca